Surprising foods you thought were vegetarian but really aren’t
Being a vegetarian is a personal choice many people make. But in a world filled with processed foods with long ingredient lists that look more like an advanced chemistry problem than actual food, it can be hard to know what we’re actually consuming.
French onion soup
Though it sounds vegetarian, French onion soup is traditionally made with beef broth.
Many fat-free varieties contain gelatin—an ingredient derived from various animal body parts—to help retain its texture.
Figs are arguably non-vegetarian as they contain at least one dead female wasp inside. It’s a natural part of the fruit’s pollination. No actual parts of the insect can be found inside as an enzyme completely breaks it down and transforms it into protein.
Marshmallows also contain gelatin. But gelatin-free varieties are available for those unwilling to forego s’mores.